Tags

, , , ,

Nielsen, a company known for providing research for traditional media; TV, radio, etc. is jumping into the Social Media scene.  The company released a report on September 13th, without a lot of surprises. Here are a few points of interest from the report:

  • Social networks and blogs continue to dominate Americans’ time online, now accounting for nearly a quarter of total time spent on the Internet
  • In the US  Americans spend more time on Facebook than they do on any other website
  • 40% of social media users access social media content from their mobile phone
  • Boomers 55+ are driving the growth of social networkng via mobile applications
  • 32% of active adult social networkers follow a celebrity
  • 53% of active adult social networkers follow a brand

The statistic that captured my attention was the high percentage of adults that follow a brand.  It appears that brands have immense opportunities to connect, grow, learn, and create brand trust via social networks.  My question is, how will brands manage the never ending onslaught of new social media channels that keep entering the fray?  An example is Tumblr.  This social media channel is now number eight.  Are you on Tumblr?  I can honestly say I’m signed up, but I don’t have enough time in the day to really give it the attention it deserves.  What about Google+? I’m on it but not like I should be.  And in reviewing the Nielsen report I don’t see that Google+ even got a mention?

So my question is how do you think brands will manage the countless new media channels.  Which ones will they choose? Will Facebook continue to be king?  I’m still of the belief that blogs will be the only channel that brands can own, participate and build consumer confidence.  What are your thoughts?

